Searching for solutions

Searching for solutions

Being out of work for a few days has really opened my eyes. It’s been like a mini-vacation to lay around all day and binge watch Netflix for hours on end. I haven’t done that in like 2 years. It’s also gotten me to think about where I am in my journey and where I want to be.  I learned that if I want to be somewhere in life, I should learn more about those who are already there.

I’ve been watching a lot of videos about wealth in America and it made me want to learn more about the top 1%. The so-called evil, greedy, stinking rich citizens of this country are a remarkable species. Their habits and their way of thinking is much different than most people’s. I read a Facebook post from a friend that read “Gonna buy a plane ticket back to [hometown] to visit my friends because I miss them. I should save the money but what’s the point”. I thought to myself “This is exactly why you’re miserable all the time, stuck in a dead-end job with no future, constantly complaining about how broke you are. Why the fuck do I even have people like you in my circle?”. That kind of mentality is would never exist among the wealthy.

The wealthy invest their money and invest in themselves. They work towards being smarter, healthier, and happier. They don’t fear change or risk, and this is where we differ. My fear of failure has paralyzed many aspects of my life. My fear has prevented me from getting the things I want out of life, and it must stop. I need to embrace change and confront my fears.

In the past, I avoided looking for remote jobs because I knew I would have to learn something new. As a full-time student, I should be used to learning new things all the time. With my foot putting me out of work, I will need to find a job that I could do at home. Perhaps it’ll be sales, data entry, administration, or some other field. Yes, I’ll probably have to learn a new skill or two, but I should never reject the opportunity to improve my skill set. Change comes much easier than risk.

The idea to open a business has always lurked in the back of my mind. I always thought “well, I’m too busy to open up a business”. How hilarious… too busy doing shit that I hate to do something I’d love. The time has come to explore a new venture. No more excuses, no more waiting. I don’t need to pull out a huge loan or anything. If I could start a business with $500, it would give me enough practice and confidence to one day open a $5000 business. Besides, a $500 micro-business shouldn’t take up too much of my time.

So, those are my goals for January-February: Find a remote job and start a micro-business. All change and no fear. Will I be able to do this with so much on my plate already? I must. I have no other choice. Besides, I’ve been on the side of NOT doing things for 30 years and it’s gotten me nowhere. The time to do it is Now.

Until next time. Stay focused, Stay strong.

Leave a Reply

