A pain like no other

A pain like no other

I went to the orthopedic on Friday for a check-up. I took a few x-rays, and hung around in a room for a while before the doctor came in to explain what was going on. She reviewed the x-rays, and estimated 4-6 weeks before I can ditch the crutches. Not what I wanted to hear, but whatever. She begins to check the open wound on my foot and seemed a little concerned.

I’ve been taking care of my wound to prevent infection and help expedite the healing process. To my surprise, she was concerned about my wound healing too rapidly. What the hell does that mean? How is that a cause for concern? I would expect an issue to arise if a wound healed to slowly, but not if it healed too fast. Either way, she started to speak some gibberish about the healing before she wiped my open wound with a gauze pad.

The entire universe fell second to the immeasurable pain that surrounded my foot as she wiped the wound with gauze. It was obvious, to me at least, that the skin was still forming from the road rash and was quite sensitive to touch. My body reacted to the agony almost immediately. My hands shook, my heart was racing, and I was sweating within minutes. I needed to relax, but I couldn’t. I was not in control of this situation, and it was causing me great discomfort. I breathed easy for a few minutes while she left the room to grab a few things. She came back and said she was going to remove the stitches. I thought I was going to cry right there in front of her.

I stared into her eyes in disbelief as she told me she would be removing the stitches from my wound. If I couldn’t handle a gauze pad, how the hell could I handle stitch removal? I had no choice, so I laid back and withered in pain while she plucked away, stitch by stitch. I held back tears and tried to answer the questions she asked me to preoccupy my mind. She was trying to make it easy on me. She even sprayed this cold stuff onto my foot to “numb it out” before removing the stitches, but it didn’t work very well. The only pain worse than this was from the accident itself.

She finished and left my foot alone for a while she explained the healing process again. I still didn’t listen very well, but she said she might have to remove some of the tissue in the wound. So, she wants to take off the skin that’s rebuilding on my wound? Is she crazy? I refused. I shook my head and repeated myself like a madman. “I can’t do it” I said, “I just can’t do it.” She asked me to lay back again while she applied silver nitrate to the wound. The suffering lasted a minute or so, although it seemed like hours, as she worked quickly to apply the silver stuff and bandage my wound. She scheduled an appointment next Friday to check the wound and set a course of action on whatever she said she had to take off.

To be honest, this woman scares the hell out of me. I drove myself to the appointment, so I didn’t take any painkillers. I regret that decision. If I knew she was gonna do all that, I would’ve taken a Percocet and called an Uber. That’s the plan for next week’s visit. My foot throbbed in pain for 2 days after she messed with it. It hadn’t hurt like that since the accident. Whatever she plans to do to me, she better be prepared to refill my prescription for Percocet. Something tells me I’m gonna need it.

Leave a Reply

