Old dog, new trick

Old dog, new trick

I got to see and old friend over the weekend. I haven’t hung out with anyone since my accident, so it was nice to see him. We ended up leaving the house and going to a music shop. He bought a violin not too long ago, and were going there to… well, I don’t really know why we went there. He played a violin at the shop for a little bit and we looked at some digital pianos. He talked about going back to school to study music.

He’s thinking about buying a guitar or a piano. It got me thinking about doing the same. I’ve always wanted to play an instrument, so I figured “why not?”. It’s not like I’m physically or mentally incapable of learning to play an instrument, so I should do it. I should set out to achieve what I desire.

Now, I usually think hard about stuff like this, so I sat down and thought about what I was getting ready to do. I weighed out the pros and cons, and factored in the risk and the reward. It seems like there’s no con to learning to play, aside from the time it takes to learn. No risk either. The only thing holding me back is me. The question is “do I really want to do this?”. I couldn’t pass up the idea of doing something that many others can’t do. I don’t know why that’s the first thing I thought about. I must be starving for attention.

Don’t get me wrong, I want to play for myself to improve the quality of my own life. I want my daughter to play an instrument too though, so maybe it isn’t all about me. Maybe I’m not doing this for myself. Maybe I don’t do anything for myself, because if I did my life would be very different. I don’t know. Life is complicated, that’s all I know. I don’t know why buying an instrument gets me thinking about my role in this universe, but it does. I literally overthink shit like this all the time. Does anyone else question their life choices and their identity when looking at the price tag on a piano? Probably not. I do. Hopefully, this over analytical personality trait will help me get ahead in my life, if it hasn’t already.

We finally left the shop, got a couple of pizzas, bought some beer, and watched Family Guy at my house. Overall, it was a good day. I woke up the next day thinking about that piano and realized that I wasn’t gonna shake the feeling off. I might as well get one and begin learning how to play. So, that was the easy part: deciding that I do in fact want a piano. Now comes the hard part: getting back to work and SAVING the money to buy a piano. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

