The world’s most expensive book club

The world’s most expensive book club

I am fascinated with success. I love reading about successful people and watching documentaries about the successful individuals throughout history. I recently saw a documentary about Warren Buffett called Becoming Warren Buffett. Something that stuck out to me was how much he talked about reading. In the documentary, he mentioned that he read every book in his father’s office, and read huge manuals on business and such. If there is one thing that I’ve learned from my own reading, it’s to follow best practices.

As I watch a documentary on billionaire Elon Musk, he also mentioned his relentless reading. It is rumored that he self-taught himself about space and rocket science by reading a lot of books. Although it is true that he and Buffet showed a high level of intelligence at a young age, there still seems to be a correlation between reading and success.

I know that success is not about just reading books. There’s more to it… or is there? I’m currently in the most expensive book club I’ve ever heard of: college. As a business student, there are tens of thousands of books available on this subject. If I read enough of these, I’m sure I would have an understanding of business that surpasses a master’s degree. But for now, I pay several hundred dollars to have someone tell me what book to read. I read it, go to class, and we talk about it. Then I take a test on what I read, pass, and move on to the next book. I’m getting ready to transfer to ASU in the fall from my community college, so I expect a lot more than this book club nonsense. I’d hate to think that I’ll be paying well over 100k for this.

I’m not a total pessimist. School has been a real life changer for me. It’s just that I’ve had equally enlightening experiences from reading Dale Carnegie’s How to Win Friend and Influence People, and that book cost me a fraction of the cost of a single college credit. The education system is so expensive, and I don’t understand why. It is what it is, I guess. I should get back to my book club, we gotta talk about chapters 4-6 next week.

 

Leave a Reply

