Algebra: My Worst Enemy

Algebra: My Worst Enemy

They say math is the solution to the world’s problems, so why is math MY biggest problem?!?! I don’t think I’m an idiot, but this stuff is really making me wonder whether I’ll even make it through school. I dropped out of school when I was 13, so I give myself credit for getting this far. Algebra seems like it’s from out of this world when you haven’t done it in 15 years. I’m taking this class online since I can’t walk around right now. Online math classes are like hell on earth. I don’t know why I chose to do it in the first place.

I missed my midterm exam and currently have an F in my class. If that isn’t enough to discourage me, I got a 65% on a test after studying for 3 days. I know it isn’t the end of the world, but it feels that way when you work hard on something and still fail. The midterm counts for 35% of my grade, so taking it would certainly bump my grade up. I emailed the professor and asked her if I could take the midterm at a later date, but she said no. I know that’s complete bullshit because life happens, and professors should understand. If I can’t physically get to testing center because of an injury, what am I supposed to do? Well, on second thought, I could’ve tested in front of a proctor, but I don’t wanna go there. I’d rather beg the school for a chance, or complain as a last resort 😉

Right now I feel like I might not get through this class. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll feel better. I don’t want to give up, but I feel like this is a waste of time. How does someone work so hard and still fail? What did I mess up on? Maybe if I work on it a little more, I’ll get better at it. Everything improves with practice, including mathematics. I guess I’ll have to read and re-read, solve and check the answer, practice and re-practice until I get it right. This really sucks, I just got to level 20 on skyrim. This couldn’t have happened at a worse time.

Leave a Reply

